Technical FAQs

Ask a Question

What is the difference between Type A, B, B1, B2, Safety Standards ?

The harmonized European safety standards establish technical specifications
which comply with the minimum safety requirements defined in the related
directives. Compliance with all applicable harmonized European standards can be
assumed to ensure compliance with the related directives. The main purpose is to
guarantee a minimum safety level for machinery and equipment sold within the EU
market and allow the free circulation of machinery within the European Union.
The 3 groups of European standards
>>Type A standards
Basic safety standards which specify the basic concepts, design principles and
general aspects valid for all types of machine: e.g. EN/ISO 12100
>>Type B standards
Standards relating to specific aspects of safety or to a particular device that can
be used on a wide range of machines
>>Type B1 standards
Standards relating to specific safety aspects of machines: e.g. EN/IEC 60204-1
Electrical equipment of machines
>>Type B2 standards
Standards relating to specific products such as two-hand control stations (EN 574),
guard switches (EN 1088/ISO 14119), emergency stops (EN/ISO 13850), etc
>>Type C standards
Standards relating to various families or groups of machines (e.g.: hydraulic
presses EN 693, robots, etc) and giving detailed applicable requirements

For More Info, thanks to check the attached document.
Was this helpful?
What can we do to improve the information ?